“Bridging the Digital Divide”

11 May 2015 | Africa Day | BMZ, Berlin, Germany

African and German experts met in Berlin to exchange ideas on issues surrounding the digitalisation of Africa.

Berlin. “The digital divide is not a mantra”, noted Rwandan Internet Minister H.E. Jean Philbert Nsengimana in his opening address at the “Africa: Continent of Opportunities - Bridging the Digital Divide” conference held in Berlin on May 11, 2015. The Minister described digitalization instead as a magnet that attracted talent and promoted investment and education. As such, it increased prosperity, which would in turn automatically reduce the digital divide. Still, he added, governments could not simply sit on their hands and wait – an idea that resonated with all conference participants. States play an important role in digitalization and the question of “how” and especially “how much” to regulate was a central question explored at the conference.

The Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) invited young entrepreneurs, bloggers and Internet experts from Africa to Berlin – and encouraged exchange with DC experts from Germany.

Along with German Commissioner for Africa, Günter Nooke, State Secretary Dr Friedrich Kitschelt also spoke at the conference opening. “Digitalisation is not optional”, Kitschelt said, emphasising the innovative potential of the technical sector in young economies like Kenya, Ruanda and others.
The State Secretary voiced his confidence that trends like “the Internet of Things” (an internet embedded in a wide range of devices and clothing that helps users almost imperceptibly) and the “sharing economy” (the sharing of material and non-material goods) will change the social fabric of our lives considerably. The BMZ, he continued, therefore felt it was very important to push digital issues to the forefront of discussion, and so he was introducing the new BMZ strategic partnership for a digital Africa.

Rwandan Internet Minister Nsengimana listed 10 steps Rwanda – generally considered a paradigm of digitization – had taken to realise its ambitious goals and was still currently implementing (for these 10 steps see the event blog, link below). The Minister’s core message: “Visions are hard, implementations are harder” was met with widespread agreement from the audience.

Two aspects of the “digital divide” were explored in a podium discussion and a workshop: the gap between the city and the country and between the well-educated and the uneducated. An additional podium discussion addressed the risks and opportunities of the “digital economy”.

Participants were mostly in agreement that while expanding infrastructure (fibre-optic cable etc.) and electrification were important, states needed to look much further up the road. Education at all levels of society, the development of inexpensive and efficient consumer devices, promoting local services and initiatives in particular, and being open to innovative ideas were just some of the aspects brought up again and again. There were many different views of the government’s role – clearly an area with great scope for further discussion.

It became clear that the basic attitude – of entrepreneurs and governments alike – was of great interest. Participants agreed that a “mind-set” was needed, one that was open, courageous and allowed for failure. One that focused on opportunity and not risk. Or, as Juliet Wanyiri, founder of Foondi in Kenya, put it: “Stop looking at tech and innovation in Africa as something fragile! What we need is more optimism!”

The event was organised by the GIZ’s Development Policy Forum with support from the Information and Communications Technology for Sustainable Development and the Digital World Sectoral Project. A live blog reported on the event and consolidated the most important Tweets. At times the #bmzafrika hashtag was third in trending topics on Twitter Deutschland.

Photo: GIZ/Thomas Ecke

Digital Development Debates – Archiv

Peru: The Power of Citizens

Engaged and mobilised citizens can change the world we live in: four examples from Peru.

» more

“Environmental Activists Take Back the Power”

Governments are no longer the ones who rule the world, the power shifted to global megacorporations.

» more

The Loneliness of Power

The life of the politically powerful tends often to isolation and loneliness. But nevertheless, many politicians still aspire to this life.

» more

A Women’s World: Virtual Offices and Gender Gyms

How social innovation is pioneering a new reality for women across the Middle East and North Africa.

» more

Der ruandische Internetminister H.E. Jean Philbert Nsengimana hielt eine der Auftaktreden und berichtete über den Weg Ruandas zum Vorzeigeland in Sachen Digitalisierung.

„Bridging the Digital Divide“

11. Mai 2015 | Afrikatag | BMZ, Berlin, Deutschland

Afrikanische und deutsche Experten trafen in Berlin zusammen, um sich über Themen rund um die Digitalisierung Afrikas auszutauschen.

Berlin. “The digital divide is not a mantra”, sagte der ruandische Internetminister H.E. Jean Philbert Nsengimana in seiner Auftaktrede zur Konferenz “Africa: Continent of Opportunities - Bridging the digital divide”, die am 11. Mai 2015 in Berlin stattfand. Vielmehr, so der Minister weiter, sei Digitalisierung ein Magnet, der Talente anzieht, Investment und Bildung fördert und so zu mehr Wohlstand führt. Dies würde die digitale Kluft automatisch verringern. Deshalb dürften aber gerade die Regierungen nicht die Hände in den Schoß legen und abwarten – da waren sich die Konferenzteilnehmerinnen und –teilnehmer einig. Staaten spielten eine wichtige Rolle in der Förderung von Digitalisierung und die Frage nach dem ‚wie‘ und vor allem ‚wieviel‘ der Regulierung – und Freiheit – war eine der Leitfragen der Konferenz.

Das Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) hatte vor allem junge Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer, Bloggerinnen und Blogger und Internetexpertinnen und -experten aus afrikanischen Ländern nach Berlin eingeladen – und regte zum Austausch mit EZ-Fachleuten aus Deutschland an.

Neben dem Afrikabeauftragten der Bundesregierung, Günter Nooke, sprach auch Staatssekretär Dr. Friedrich Kitschelt zum Auftakt der Konferenz. „Digitalisation is not optional“, sagte Kitschelt und verwies vor allem auf das Innovationspotential des Techniksektors, insbesondere in jungen Ökonomien wie Kenia, Ruanda und Co.
Der Staatssekretär zeigte sich überzeugt, dass Tendenzen wie das ‚Internet der Dinge‘ (also einem Internet, das in verschiedensten Geräten und Kleidungsstücken integriert ist und uns unmerklich unterstützt) oder die „shareconomy“ (also das Teilen von materiellen und nicht-materiellen Gütern) das gesellschaftliche Zusammenleben stark verändern werden. Deshalb sei dem BMZ auch sehr daran gelegen, digitale Themen sehr prominent zu behandeln. Kitschelt stellte deshalb auch die neue strategische Partnerschaft für ein digitales Afrika des BMZ vor.

Der ruandische Internetminister Nsengimana berichtete in 10 Punkten, wie Ruanda – das allgemein als Vorzeigeland der Digitalisierung gilt – seine ehrgeizigen Ziele umgesetzt hat und aktuell noch umsetzt (die 10 Punkte finden Sie im blog der Veranstaltung, Link siehe unten). Die Kernbotschaft des Ministers „Visions are hard, implementations are harder“ stieß auf große Zustimmung im Publikum.

Zwei Aspekte der „digital divide“ wurden in einer Podiumsdiskussion und einem Workshop erörtert: nämlich die Kluft zwischen Stadt und Land sowie zwischen gut Ausgebildeten und nicht Ausgebildeten.
Der Frage nach den Risiken und Chancen der „digital economy“ wurde in einer weiteren Podiumsdiskussion nachgegangen.

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer waren sich weitestgehend einig, dass der Ausbau der Infrastruktur (Glasfaserkabel etc.) und die Elektrifizierung zwar wichtig seien, dass aber noch viel weiter gedacht werden müsse. Bildung auf allen Ebenen, die Entwicklung von günstigen und effizienten Endgeräten, die Förderung gerade lokaler Dienste und Initiativen und das Zulassen von innovativen Ideen sind hier nur einige der Punkte, die immer wieder aufkamen. Die Rolle der Regierungen wurde dabei sehr unterschiedlich gesehen – hier gibt es noch viel Raum für Diskussionen.

Deutlich wurde, dass es viel auch um eine Grundhaltung – von Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmern, aber auch von Regierungsleuten – geht. Gefordert wurde vielfach ein „mindset“, der offen und mutig ist und auch Scheitern zulässt. Der die Möglichkeiten wahrnimmt und nicht die Risiken. Oder, wie Juliet Wanyiri, Gründerin von Foondi in Kenia, es ausdrückte: “Stop looking at tech and innovation in Africa as something fragile! What we need is more optimism!”

Die Veranstaltung wurde vom Entwicklungspolitischen Forum der GIZ mit Unterstützung der Sektorvorhaben Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien für nachhaltige Entwicklung und Digitale Welt, ausgerichtet. Auf einem liveblog wurde zu der Veranstaltung berichtet und die wichtigsten tweets zusammengefasst. Teilweise war das hashtag #bmzafrica auf Platz 3 der Topthemen bei Twitter Deutschland.

Foto: GIZ/Thomas Ecke

Digital Development Debates – Archiv

The Future of Labour Is Not Pre-Determined

Interview with Guy Ryder, Director-General of the International Labour Organization (ILO) on the situation of labour rights worldwide.

» more

Morocco’s Solar Bet

Morocco’s new solar power plants are expected to support 1.1 million people and hopes are high for a boost in job creation. Yet obstacles still remain.

» more

Women Entering Tech

The Organization ChunriChoupaal does not accept the male bias of the tech industry. Neither in Europe nor in Pakistan

» more

Europe’s Working Poor

In some parts of Europe, garment workers earn less than their Asian counterparts – even if they work for big brands

» more